Facebook Messenger tracks your location by default
If you use Facebook Messenger on an Android phone you might want to check your settings. The app tracks and sends your location to everyone you chat with -- by default.
You can turn off location tracking and sharing by clicking the compass icon above the Like button in your chat threads. If the icon is blue, the feature is on.